dinaDuluth gift guide

il_570xN.232173121

Here it is. A holiday gift guide filled with everything Duluth. All the fun and beautiful things in today’s post are made here in the northland. So whether you are shopping around our snow-filled streets or online in London (I have a fun following in the UK), I hope you connect with something special here. I genuinely love all these things and have been gifting many of them throughout the years.

il_570xN.170888615

Jewelry artist Sally Cavallaro makes all of her hip and creative pieces in Duluth. Per Sally, every piece she creates is unique and one of a kind, produced by hand forging, fusing, and soldering fine and sterling silver. Splashes of color are integrated subtly through beads and gemstones found and purchased locally. Her designs are very organic and imperfect, resembling geometric shapes inspired by the simple forms, shapes, and color of the North Shore of Minnesota. You can find them in town at Trailfitters or online at her Etsy shoppe.

photo-52Epicurean cutting boards are incredible. They look sharp and withstand better than any other board I’ve used. Fun fact: The cutting boards are made with the same material used for skateboard ramps! (Learn more here.) They even have a cool camp series. We purchase them at our local Co-op.

positivelyCookies from 3rd Street Bakery are delicious and wholesome. For the eight years I lived in Minneapolis and St. Cloud I had them shipped to me! My favorites are Thunder and Monkey.

The name “Positively 3rd St. Bakery” was an inventive conjunction of Dylan lore (predating “Bob Dylan Way” by a quarter-century!) and geography. The model was whole-grain baking at affordable prices…a business niche that the bakery is happy to inhabit to today.

positively3rdstexteriorStop in to the cute little shoppe on 3rd Street or have them shipped to you. They also make yummy and nutritious granolas and breads.

original_The_Air_Of_An_Animal

Adam Swanson prints. Vivacity only begins to describe the colorful, dynamic and creative nature of his work. I see Adam occasionally at Zeitgeist. So kind, talented and humble. It was hard to pick but this is the one on my Santa wish list. (Mikey?);)

dsc_0440cc6001THE mukluks. Steger Mukluks. Not only do they look chic but they are seriously the warmest boots you’ll ever own. (Mike and his boys wear them every year winter camping in February along the border of Minnesota and Canada.) Mukluks paired with my Sweaty Betty nordic base layers and I’ve got Mikey blushing and smiling from ear to ear. Mmmm…

I would love to get my entire family a pair this year. And naughty me wants a new pair of her own as well. I can’t decide between these and these. Missa is also shopping as she sent me a text the other night and wanted me to pick between her two faves. Ha ha.

Classic. Chic. Minnesota. Duluth. ♡

Merry Christmas!
xoxo dina

{Dedicating this post to my best friends Brandy and Dillon…living in Denver but their hearts still smile for Duluth. They make it home every year for Christmas. Love yous. Too much.}:)

{Special thanks to all of the creators of these beautiful gifts. I connected with most of them while developing this post. Friendly, professional, classy and humble folks. Duluthians for sure.}

(Last image from Little House on the Tundra)

3 thoughts on “dinaDuluth gift guide

  1. I have been going back and forth between which Mukluks to get…the Terra, the Quetico tall or the Arctic…your picture sold me on the Arctics! Love them:)

  2. This is special. Just like you and Duluth. Your writing is so authentic and genuinely you. I can’t wait to visit you, the lake and some favorite North Shore vistas…soon.

Please share a comment

